Three Eagles, including Jalen Hurts honored at Maxwell Football Club Gala

Posted on March 19, 2023

Now that the sting from the Eagles’ Super Bowl loss has [somewhat] settled, Philadelphia has had some time to celebrate.

Last week, during the 86th Annual Maxwell Football Club 2023 National Awards Gala, three important Eagles were honored. Head coach Nick Sirianni, quarterback Jalen Hurts, and defensive end Brandon Graham were all recognized for their contribution to the game.


The Maxwell Football Club was established in 1935 by founder Bert Bell. Bell was the owner of the Eagles  from 1933-1940, also serving as head coach beginning in 1936. The club has become one of the oldest and most prestigious football clubs throughout the country, honoring the league’s most talented players.

Earning the 64th Bert Bell Professional Player of the Year Award was none other than quarterback Jalen Hurts. And, he gave an award-winning speech to go with his acceptance. Acknowledging many of his fellow teammates, he discussed his past, as well as his future journey as he leads the Eagles.

“The most beautiful part of all of this is there is beauty in anything that experience in life but you have to decide what that is and what that means for you and I know that I’e experienced a number of agonies and pains but now I realize that that pain is my strength.”

Hurts ended his speech stating, “Y’all do’t get used to that other thing we did,” referencing the Eagles’ Super Bowl loss. “We plan on finishing moving forward. I’m never satisfied. It’s only the beginning.”

“I know I didn’t walk through the fire just to smell the smoke.”

Also accepting an award that night were head coach Nick Sirianni and defensive end Brandon Graham.

Sirianni won the 34th Greasy Neale Professional Coach of the Year Award. He joined former Eagles coaches, including Ray Rhodes, Andy Reid, Chip Kelly, and Doug Pederson as winners.

The Eagles’ second-year head coach stated, “I’m 41 years old and I’m still part of a team in the greatest team sport there is. I’m really honored, and when you’re part of a team, there are obviously a lot of people to thank. I’m just so blessed to be in this position.”

Graham received the Steinberg-DeNicola Humanitarian Award. As one of 20 free agents this offseason, Graham will return for another season with the Eagles in 2023. He remains the longest-tenured athlete in Philadelphia.

Going into the 2023-2024, the Eagles hope to make it to the Super Bowl yet again, this time winning the Lombardi Trophy. They’ve gone through a number of roster changes already, but will continue to lean on their strengths as they prepare for the NFL Draft.

Alicia Andaloro Avatar
Written by
Alicia Andaloro

Alicia was born and raised in Philadelphia, becoming an avid Eagles fan as a child. She graduated from Penn State University and now works in the medical field. In her spare time, she enjoys traveling and baking.

View all posts by Alicia Andaloro