Eight Eagles players are going to Pro Bowl 2023

Posted on December 22, 2022

The Philadelphia Eagles are setting records left and right this season. In addition to leading the league with a 13-1 record, the team had eight players selected to the Pro Bowl — a league-high.

The announcement was made on Wednesday when both the AFC and NFC rosters were made public. Four of eight Eagles players were selected for the first time.


Six Eagles players were selected as starters.

  • Jalen Hurts, Quarterback
  • A.J. Brown, Wide Receiver
  • Jason Kelce, Center
  • Landon Dickerson, Offensive Guard
  • Lane Johnson, Right Tackle
  • Darius Slay, Cornerback

The remaining two players were selected as back-ups.

  • Miles Sanders, Running Back
  • Haason Reddick, Linebacker

Hurts, Dickerson, Sanders, and Reddick are all first-time selections.

Hurts, who is having an MVP-season, may now miss the next one to two weeks with a right shoulder injury. In his second season as starting quarterback for Philadelphia, he is making waves by proving everyone wrong. After revising last season’s mistakes, Hurts now has 4,219 total yards and 35 total touchdowns through 14 games.

Somewhat surprising is Landon Dickerson who was named as a starter. Though he’s the weakest link on the Eagles’ offensive line, he has blossomed into a player to keep your eye on. Dickerson is the franchise’s first offensive lineman named to the Pro Bowl within his first two seasons since 1965.

Running back Miles Sanders was destined to make the Pro Bowl this season. After playing his worst season in 2021, Sanders has already exceeded 1,000 rushing yards this season. He also has a career-high 11 touchdowns and is likely on his way to a lucrative contract extension.

Also selected for the first time is Haason Reddick. The Philadelphia native is in his first season with the Eagles and is likely to set a career-high in sacks before the season’s end. With 12, Reddick also has four forced fumbles and three fumble recoveries.

Brown, Kelce, Johnson, and Slay are all familiar with the selection. Picked for the second time, Brown has surpassed 1,000 receiving yards this season. Johnson is celebrating his fourth and Slay, his fifth. Kelce is now a six-time Bowler, chosen for the fourth consecutive season.


One of the biggest disappointments was a non-selection for defensive tackle Javon Hargrave. The 29-year-old was the top vote-getter at his position in the NFC, according to fan votes. Though fan voting only accounted for one-third of the votes, it’s interesting that fellow players and coaches wouldn’t feel the same about Hargrave.

In his second season with the Eagles, Hargrave has 49 combined tackles and a career-high ten sacks. He was selected for his first Pro Bowl last season.

Despite not getting the recognition this year, he was selected as an alternative. Joining him are eight more Eagles players including:

  • DeVonta Smith, Wide Receiver
  • Isaac Seumalo, Offensive Guard
  • Jordan Mailata, Left Tackle
  • Brandon Graham, Defensive End
  • Fletcher Cox, Defensive Tackle
  • Josh Sweat, Defensive End
  • James Bradberry, Cornerback
  • Rick Lovato, Longsnapper
Alicia Andaloro Avatar
Written by
Alicia Andaloro

Alicia was born and raised in Philadelphia, becoming an avid Eagles fan as a child. She graduated from Penn State University and now works in the medical field. In her spare time, she enjoys traveling and baking.

View all posts by Alicia Andaloro